being broken down for a love so much bigger and greater then comprehension

Africa

When telling people that I’m spending my summer in Africa. The most asked question is why Africa. Being the sarcastic person I am, my response has been “why not Africa”. Going to Africa is not new; it is something I have been wanted to do for a long time. For those that have been around me know that I have been almost jumping out of my skin with joy when I say “I’m going to Africa” I am normally not a shout it on the rooftops kind of girl but I really can’t contain my excitement!

 

This has been a dream for such a long time funny things is when I started all of this I didn’t know I would be going to Africa this summer.

 

For years I have been wanting to go back overseas I have wanted to work in the medical field and I have been saying I’ll go over the summer and well summers came and went and I never left the country. I think maybe I was waiting for opportunities to come jump out at me. I was looking and had leads but everything seemed to fall through. This year I told myself it was going to happen no matter what I would just make it happen. So I looked and looked and looked until I found the right program that offered what I was looking for. I had no idea of where I wanted to go at the time. My primary objective of this trip was to learn. I wanted to a medical internship with a focus on pediatrics and the ability to apply and hone my skills as a new message therapist. It was not until I was on the phone with a rep talking about my options that Africa came up. She said it my heart jumped up and down like a little kid saying “there, there let’s go there” my mind was focused on getting all the info before I got to excited. When Tanzania was presented as an option I had this feeling that it was where I needed to be. I don’t know why but it just felt right and when it fell out of the running for a bit I was sad and spent calling and talking to people to make things work.

 

Long story short I am going to Tanzania near Kilimanjaro for 8 weeks to do a medical internship focusing on pediatrics. I will be working in the local hospital alongside doctors and nurses. The second half of my trip I will be working in a center helped people with physical and mental delays working alongside a Physical therapist.

 

Few facts about Tanzania:

It will be about 50- 80 degrees when I am there. Most days are hot with cold nights.

The main language is Swahili. English is not taught is schools. I will be learning the language.

From what I hear, there are monkeys everywhere that steal your stuff.

 

I have 4 days of travel with a few stops along the way. I started my journey just 4 hours ago from writing this.

 

So far so good!

 

Love you all, thanks for your support !!

Leave a Reply

